CHS Senior Wins Prize in The Education Alliance’s Cool Cash for College Contest

blue and gold Cameron High School logo

Emma Whipkey of Cameron High School becomes the first student from Marshall County to win the statewide Cool Cash for College Contest . Thanks to an initiative by The Education Alliance, in collaboration with the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, current high school seniors who fill out a Promise Scholarship application and complete the…

Read More

Electronic Forms at MCS

9-11-20 Tweet about FinalForms

Marshall County parents now have an option to use electronic forms for beginning of the year forms and athletic forms.  MCS purchased FinalForms for our schools, parents, and students to use for the 20-21 school year.  A parent can create an account which will then be used to associate their child with them.  After filling…

Read More

Students Heading Back to School in Marshall County

Back to school written in white over blue ribbons. A black Marshall County Schools logo with Students return Tuesday, September 8, 2020 written below the logo in black.

Students in grades 1st through 12th return to school in Marshall County on Tuesday, September 8, 2020 for the start of the 2020 – 2021 academic year at Level 3, as long as Marshall County remains green or yellow on the governor’s colored-coded map. Level 3 means all kids will report for in-person instruction two…

Read More

CHS Earns Champion of College Access and Success Award

Pictured from left: CHS Head Principal Wyatt O’Neil, CHS Counselor Kelly Pettit and CHS Assistant Principal Rhonda Williams. Mrs. Pettit is holding a white and orange banner that reads2020 Champion of College Access and Success.

Cameron High School is among the 18 high schools in West Virginia being recognized as a 2020 Champion of College Access and Success recipient. The College Foundation of West Virginia (CFWV) coordinates three annual college-planning milestones to help students in West Virginia plan their pathway to education or training beyond high school. High schools that…

Read More

Marshall County Schools Continues No Cost Meal Program

Tray of school food

Marshall County Schools Child Nutrition Program Information The Marshall County Board of Education will continue the availability of a daily, no cost breakfast and lunch at school for all students during the 2020- 2021 academic year regardless of income.  Under the Community Eligibility Option Provision, applications will not need to be completed to be eligible…

Read More

2020-2021 Bus Routes and Schedules

Side view of yellow Marshall County Schools bus

Information is now available about the transportation routes for the 2020-2021 academic year. The updated lists can be found at this link: or in the Links tab under Transportation at the top of this page. Click on the bus number to download a schedule. Please note there are time changes. If you’re not sure…

Read More

School Summer Food Program Extended

Marshall County Logo circle with a bus in the middle with sun rays around in yellow

The Marshall County Schools Summer Food Program schedule has added an extra week because of West Virginia Governor Jim Justice’s order that schools can’t go back in session until Tuesday, September 8, 2020. On Wednesday, August 5 and Wednesday, August 19, 2020 the Marshall Mobile Food Bus will make stops in the same neighborhoods at…

Read More

CHS Student Nominated for U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

Cameron High School senior Jordan Dotson

Cameron High School senior Jordan Dotson has been selected as a candidate for the prestigious United States Presidential Scholars Program. Established in 1964 by Executive Order of the President, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program recognizes and honors distinguished graduating high school seniors. While students are automatically eligible for nomination during their senior year of high…

Read More

Southwestern Energy and CFOV Award STEM Education Grants

Left to Right Row 1 1. Jennifer Schwertfeger, Cameron High School 2. Debbie McKay, Wheeling Middle School 3. Julie Sturgill, Washington Lands Elementary School 4. Amy Dobkin, Southwestern Energy 5. Lori Healy, Washington Lands Elementary School 6. Bethani Tweedlie, Center McMechen Elementary School 7. Lara Himrod, Central Elementary School 8. Amanda Yates, Sherrard Middle School 9. Michelle Titus-Glover, Middle Creek Elementary Row 2 1. Diana Aston, Cameron High School 2. Jill Wilson, Washington Lands Elementary School 3. Shannon Young, Washington Lands Elementary School 4. Rob Chavanak, John Marshall High School 5. Josh Yost, Warwood Middle School 6. Allison Rine, Hilltop Elementary School 7. Joann VanHorn, Steenrod Elementary School 8. Brandy Lackie, West Liberty Elementary School 9. Ashley Wolfe, Middle Creek Elementary School 10. Melesa Swartz, West Liberty University

Several area classrooms will soon feature enhanced STEM-based learning materials, opportunities and experiences thanks to Southwestern Energy (SWN) and the Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley (CFOV). The grant opportunity demonstrates SWN’s ongoing commitment to STEM education and supports the energy company’s desire to be an active corporate citizen while enhancing elements of the educational…

Read More

Gov. Justice, State Education Leaders Honor 2020 WV Teacher of the Year

WV Gov. Jim Justice looks on as 2020 West Virginia Teacher of the Year Jennifer Schwertfeger is honored for her accomplishments..

WV Gov. Jim Justice looks on as 2020 West Virginia Teacher of the Year Jennifer Schwertfeger is honored for her accomplishments. On Thursday Gov. Jim Justice joined State Superintendent of Schools Dr. Steven Paine for a ceremony to recognize the 2020 West Virginia Teacher of the Year: Jennifer Schwertfeger. The Governor was also joined by representatives…

Read More